Sunday, September 23, 2018

Panel to help more disabled people vote in Delhi

NEW DELHI: An eight-member State Steering Committee on Accessible Election was formed on Tuesday to ensure and monitor the electoral process in Delhi.

The committee, which was created on the direction and guidelines of the Election Commission, has been entrusted with the task of mapping persons with disabilities (PwD) according to the poll stations as well as maintaining and updating the data regularly. Also, it has to look into identifying PwDs who are not enrolled in the voters’ list and facilitate the same by planning special camps and sensitisation efforts, and submit a periodic report to the ECI.

The committee comprises the chairperson, six members and the convener. While the chief electoral officer (CEO) will chair the committee, the additional CEO will be the convener. The other members include principal secretary, Delhi government, director, Pt Deen Dayal Upadhayaya National Institute for Persons with Physical Disabilities, directors of department of social welfare and education, Dr Satendra Singh, associate professor, University College of Medical Science, Delhi University, Dr Achal Bhagat, chairperson, AADI, an NGO.

The committee will facilitate creating a barrier-free environment for efficient and effective electoral participation by the disabled, and ensure training for election functionaries by sensitising them on special needs of PwDs, prepare a module on the same, and share with the districts. It would also assess the recommendations of District Monitoring Committee on Accessible Election (DMCAE) on further steps to be taken to enhance their electoral participation, and appoint state icons from among PwDs.

No comments:

Post a Comment